Things I read this week that I found interesting

Hey hey, readers. I read too. Here are some things I read this week that I found interesting. I hope you will, too.

What Would Make You Believe a Survivor of Childhood Sexual Abuse? (Andrea Grimes)- A heartbreaking piece on the absurd standards of proof levelled at survivors. 

My Open Letter to White People or Why I Hate ‘White people’ (terarroni)- Make sure you read this, it’s important. 

Yes I’m afraid of cis people. (ami-angelwings)- …also, this.

The shift of trans narratives on TV (Ryan Sallans)- Ryan documents a slow change in the tides, and is optimistic for better in future.

My Tone Isn’t The Problem. Abusive Mainstream Feminists Are. (Gradient Lair)- An excellent piece on that ongoing and vexing “toxicity” rhetoric.

6 harmful media myths about sex and Latinas (Erika L. Sanchez)- Busting through some tropes used against Latinas.

Not Guilty means nothing in a Rape Culture (Sam Ambreen)- Sam takes down a particular legal stick used to beat us. 

EUSA passes motion to support sex workers (The Journal)- This is excellent news. Read all about it. 

4 Ways to Push Back Against Your Privilege (Mia McKenzie)- Moving beyond privilege checking into concrete action.

In Defense of Twitter Feminism (Suey Park)- You know those pieces that inspire standing ovation? This is one of them.

And finally, your nightmares, illustrated

 


2 responses to “Things I read this week that I found interesting

  • maotonyvera123

    Awesome..this is great!! Love it

  • surreptitious57

    Sam Ambreen is a powerful writer. She has anger in her soul but it is tempered with lucidity of argument. I do not necessarily agree with all she writes but she makes me think and anyone who does that gets top marks from me., I hope you regularly feature her as she is worth reading,. Most definitely. I have not had time to go through the other links and I tend to do so casually on the net because there is so much to access. It is so much easier to read a book as one is only distracted by one page at a time. But I think you have an excellent balance here between your own opinion pieces and links to others. I like that and you write a fair amount so there is always something worthy of comment. I find it hard to find a blog I can get my teeth into. They usually are lacking sufficient quantity but you seem to have it cornered in that respect. So keep it up stavvers as I really like it. It is good stuff

Leave a Reply

